"PRIOR PREPARATION PREVENTS PISS POOR PERFORMANCE" Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/ Sun, 23 Sep 2018 22:30:59 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Sun, Sep 23, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-23-2018.html <p>10 mi on the hilly mountain road this am w/ Troy. Warm morning start at 60*, some pretty stiff 19 mph winds but a pretty good taper time ten miler. 12 days 15 hrs till St George showtime! Almost time to go big or stay home!!!!</p> Sun, 23 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Sep 21, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-21-2018.html <p>4 mi this am, rest day</p> Fri, 21 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Sep 20, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-20-2018.html <p>6 X Hills this am.</p> Thu, 20 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Sep 19, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-19-2018.html <p>6 miles this am</p> Wed, 19 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Sep 18, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-18-2018.html <p>8 mi this am.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 18 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Sep 17, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-17-2018.html <p>rest day, 5 easy miles</p> Mon, 17 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Sun, Sep 16, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-16-2018.html <p>15 miles on the small block and DDMR. It was warm this morning and quite breezy. at least the humidity was low at 24%. Taper Time is underway, Oh Yea, I love it.....</p> Sun, 16 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Sep 15, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-15-2018.html <p>rest day except a fun morning finishing up rebuilding fencing around my home....</p> Sat, 15 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Sep 14, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-14-2018.html <p>10 mi this am on the small block &amp; Mt Rd. 65*,&nbsp;15mph winds, 20% humidity. 21 days 19 hours till SGM. Hell week is over and it&rsquo;s on to taper time!</p> Fri, 14 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Sep 13, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-13-2018.html <p>8.5 mi on the small block and Porter Rockwell Trail.</p> Thu, 13 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Sep 12, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-12-2018.html <p>5 mi this am on the big block, 73*, 22% humidity, 14 mpn SSE winds. 23 days 21 hrs till the St George Marathon / October 6, 2018.</p> <p>I was successful in registering for the 2019 Boston Marathon and received&nbsp;Conformation!&nbsp;</p> Wed, 12 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Sep 11, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-11-2018.html <p>10 mi on the Mt Rd &amp; Big Block , 65*, 5 mph wind, 20% humidity&nbsp;</p> Tue, 11 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Sep 10, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-10-2018.html <p>5 really easy recovery miles this am . Went out at about the starting time for the St George Marathon (6:45am) to get used to the time and conditions. 26 days and change till SGM race day...</p> Mon, 10 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Sun, Sep 09, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-09-2018.html <p>Out the door at 3:am for a scheduled 20 miler, the last one in this marathon training cycle.(thats 5 runs of 17 + miles in a row)&nbsp;Now it&rsquo;s on to the last high mileage week before taper time goes into effect! Yea! 3:am, 53*, 20% humidity, &nbsp;little to no breeze present. 27 days till the SGM!</p> Sun, 09 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Sep 08, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-08-2018.html <p>6 easy miles on the big block, 5:am, 67*, 44% humidity, 11 mph wind. 28 days &amp; a wake up and it&rsquo;s showtime!</p> Sat, 08 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Sep 07, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-07-2018.html <p>3 easy miles and a full body workout....</p> Fri, 07 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Sep 06, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-06-2018.html <p>Tempo run today, on the road by 7:am, 66*, 34% humidity, 10 mph winds, etc.....29&nbsp;days, 19 hours, 22&nbsp;minutes, 30 seconds till October 6, 2018 &amp; the start of the St George Marathon.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 06 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Sep 05, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-05-2018.html <p>7.5 mi on the big block and Dimple Dell Mt Rd. 6:am, 60*, &nbsp;20% humidity, nice mid week run.</p> Wed, 05 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Sep 04, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-04-2018.html <p>7 mi on the big block this morning. 58*, 40%&nbsp;humidity, 3 mph breeze, too early for anything but first light. 33 days till STG&#127939;&#127939;&#127939;&#127939;&#127939;&#127939;&#127939;&#127939;&#127939;&#127939;&#127939;&#127939;&#127939;&#127939;!</p> Tue, 04 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Sep 03, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-03-2018.html <p>&nbsp;1 mile TM recovery trot and then a modified 2/3rds body workout.</p> Mon, 03 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Sun, Sep 02, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-02-2018.html <p>Up and out the door at zero dark 5 o&#39;clock and zapped out&nbsp;a 20 miler with Troy. Troy running the SGM for his first time, his second overall marathon!We did a two loop course&nbsp;up Dimple Dell Mt Rd and down Wasatch. Walking out my front door the elevation is 4750 ft climbing to an elevation of 5200 ft, then dropping back to 4750 ft and repeating twice to get the 20 miles in.......what a bear!&nbsp;One more 20 miler plus run then it&#39;s taper time with a cut back week, I can hardly wait for taper time! 36 days till showtime at SGM!</p> Sun, 02 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Sep 01, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-01-2018.html <p>rest day&nbsp;</p> Sat, 01 Sep 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Aug 31, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-31-2018.html <p>10 mi on the big block around my home base at or near Marathon pace and a prelude to a 20 miler on Sunday to get in shape to succeed at the SGM in 37 days! Oh my!&nbsp;</p> Fri, 31 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 30, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-30-2018.html <p>7 X Hill. Todays Hill exercise was all about saving energy by floating up the hill pumping arms and bending the knees, all to&nbsp;strengthening the quadricepts! 71*, 24% humidity, 16 mph wind, overcast skies.&nbsp;&nbsp;38 days till SGM...</p> Thu, 30 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 29, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-29-2018.html <p>5 mi on the big block, nice and easy recovery miles. Full body W/O at the gym....</p> Wed, 29 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 28, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-28-2018.html <p>10 mi sorta-long on the PRT. 53*, light breeze....great morning weather for a sorta-long run. 40 days till SGM...</p> Tue, 28 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Aug 27, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-27-2018.html <p>FB W/O, Running rest day....</p> Mon, 27 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Sun, Aug 26, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-26-2018.html <p>17 miles on the big block and Porter Rockwell Trail. Not a bad run this am, still a bit tired from the 1/2 mary two weeks past! 42 days till SGM and I think the training is right on target.....</p> Sun, 26 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Aug 25, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-25-2018.html <p>rest day</p> Sat, 25 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Aug 24, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-24-2018.html <p>6 mi on the Porter Rockwell Trail @5:am, 67*, 48% humidity, 15 mpy winds.....nice easy run. 44 days till SGM...</p> Fri, 24 Aug 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 23, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-23-2018.html <p>7 mi on the big block this am. 65*, 15 mph winds, 58% humidity. partly cloudy. lots of smoke in the air from the fires...45 days till SGM.</p> Thu, 23 Aug 2018 06:00:00