"PRIOR PREPARATION PREVENTS PISS POOR PERFORMANCE" Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/ Sun, 15 Jul 2018 20:57:53 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Sun, Jul 15, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-15-2018.html <p>12 hot LD miles on the Mt Rd.&nbsp;</p> Sun, 15 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Jul 14, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-14-2018.html <p>5 mi @ MP. 49% Humidity, 77*, SSE 7 mph wind, somewhat cloudy, this all made for a pleasant run except the humidity made me sweating like a hairy&nbsp;old goat trapped in a hot box on the deseret.&nbsp;In the mean time I&#39;ve got about 10 days till the the Deseret News 10k and 28 days till the Porters 1/2 Marathon, all of which I hope&nbsp;will motivate me to be ready for my 14th running of the St George Marathon in 85 days. The last time I ran SGM was in 2011 when I was celebrating my 60th birthday year challenge. I ran 17 races that year including 12 marathons in 12 months. It averaged out at 1 marathon every 30 days. The other races were two - 5Ks and two - 1/2 marathons.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 14 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Jul 13, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-13-2018.html <p>5 easy&nbsp;miles then a trip to the gym for a&nbsp;FB W/O, calistenitcs, stretching, etc....</p> Fri, 13 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Jul 12, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-12-2018.html <p>rest day....</p> Thu, 12 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Jul 11, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-11-2018.html <p>5 miles again today, then a FB W/O, calisthenics, stretching, finishing with 25 minutes in the Steam Room.</p> Wed, 11 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 10, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-10-2018.html <p>5 easy miles, then a FB W/O at the gym /&nbsp;calisthenics,&nbsp;&nbsp;stretching and sgteam..&nbsp;</p> Tue, 10 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Jul 09, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-09-2018.html <p>5 mi on the short block, then a trip to the gym w/a FB w/o!</p> Mon, 09 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Sun, Jul 08, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-08-2018.html <p>7 miles on the big block, then a trip to the gym for a fbw/o.&nbsp;</p> Sun, 08 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Jul 07, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-07-2018.html <p>3 miles on the small block...</p> Sat, 07 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Jul 06, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-06-2018.html <p>rest and recuperate day</p> Fri, 06 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Jul 05, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-05-2018.html <p>35 min. tempo run. Full Body W/O. 30 min steam.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 05 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Jul 04, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-04-2018.html <p>Sandy Classic 4th of July 5K, Time: 26:20, AG (65-69) Position 3rd, Male Place 70 of 194, Finish Position 109 of 405, Pace 8:30/M. I felt a bit sluggish today but I was happy to finish in roughly the&nbsp;top 25% of the field and 3rd in my old mans division. So now it&#39;s time to continue with training for the other smaller races on the way to the St George Marathon in October....</p> <p>Next race: Deseret News 10K, July 24, 2018</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Wed, 04 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 03, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-03-2018.html <p>one cardio mile with some sets, crunches and abdominal&nbsp; leg lifts....a quick trip to the steam room for further relaxation and then home to get ready for the Sandy City Freedom 5K tomorrow.</p> Tue, 03 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Jul 02, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-02-2018.html <p>Rest Day, all day today and tomorrow.&nbsp;&nbsp;Gotta 4th of July 5k so I&rsquo;m giving my self a quick taper ....</p> Mon, 02 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Sun, Jul 01, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-01-2018.html <p>The morning temp was about 54* at 5:am for a scheduled 14 miler. My good friend Troy is running with me on the weekends as we train tor the St George Marathon. The humidity was about 19% with a 6 mph breeze. Nice running conditions at a LD pace....129 days till SGM!!!!!</p> Sun, 01 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 30, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-30-2018.html <p>rest day, tomorrows LD run is a 14 miler......</p> Sat, 30 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 29, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-29-2018.html <p>2 cardio mile warmup, then a full body workout....</p> Fri, 29 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 28, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-28-2018.html <blockquote> <p>Too hot and windy to do my planed speed training. Opted for a 6 mile easy run vs an &ldquo;uphill&rdquo; 4X1 mi repeats. 90*, &nbsp;20 mph wind, 15% humidity.</p> </blockquote> Thu, 28 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 27, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-27-2018.html <p>2 cardio miles then a full body workout at the gym w/350 setups&nbsp;&amp; 100 leg lifts, 20 mi in the steam room. &nbsp;96*, &nbsp;11% humidity, 4 mph breeze.</p> Wed, 27 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 26, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-26-2018.html <p>6 miles on the Mt Rd, 75*, SSE 8 mph wind, 28% humidity</p> Tue, 26 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 25, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-25-2018.html <p>6 rest and recovery miles on the Big Block, then a full body workout....</p> Mon, 25 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Sun, Jun 24, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-24-2018.html <p>13 LD Miles on the Dimple Dell Mountain Road.....68*, 39% humidity, 5 mph NNW breeze.</p> Sun, 24 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 23, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-23-2018.html <p>6.75 miles at almost race pace ont the Porter Rockwell Trail. 5:30 am, 64*, 25% humidity, 16 mph winds. Tomorrow starts &nbsp;week 4 of an 18 week training&nbsp;cycle to St. George /&nbsp;3 mo, 13 days, 8&nbsp;hrs&nbsp;and a few other races till SGM.</p> Sat, 23 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 22, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-22-2018.html <p>3 mile cardio warmup, full body workout...</p> Fri, 22 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 21, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-21-2018.html <p>5 miles. Warm up - 4X 800 yasso&rsquo;s - cool down.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 21 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 20, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-20-2018.html <p>3 mile cardio warmup &amp; a Full body w/o....</p> Wed, 20 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 19, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-19-2018.html <p>6 &nbsp;short miles on the PRT. 6:am, 66*, &nbsp;38% humidity, 13 mph winds</p> Tue, 19 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 18, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-18-2018.html <p>Rest Day, 2 mi cardio run, full body workout. 68*, 38% humidity, 8 mph winds</p> Mon, 18 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Sun, Jun 17, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-17-2018.html <p>8 LD miles on the Mt Rd. 68*, 35% humidity, 17 mph winds....</p> Sun, 17 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 16, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-16-2018.html <p>5 MP miles on the Mt Rd...79*, 31% humidity, 12 mph wind</p> Sat, 16 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 15, 2018 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-15-2018.html <p>1 mi cardio warmup, then a full body workout.</p> Fri, 15 Jun 2018 06:00:00