"PRIOR PREPARATION PREVENTS PISS POOR PERFORMANCE" Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/ Sun, 25 Aug 2019 23:50:47 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Sun, Aug 25, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-25-2019.html <p>17 mi today on the Mt Rd &amp; Big Block w/Troy. Great long run but it all started hot &amp; humid....&rdquo;Just getter done&rdquo; was the slogan of the day! Troy is really getting on top of his game, and I expect he will achieve his first Boston Qualification at the Full Monte and I hope that I can will this old man body down the course and make it Back to Boston for my 15th run at the greatest running show on earth!!!</p> Sun, 25 Aug 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Aug 24, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-24-2019.html <p>6 easy mi on the PRT this 5:30 am. 61*, 41% Humidity, 6mph breeze.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 24 Aug 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Aug 23, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-23-2019.html <p>10 mi /&nbsp;5 @MP on the DD Mt Rd, 5:am, 63 *, 41% Humidity, no breeze. 28 days 23 hrs and it&#39;s showtime!!!</p> Fri, 23 Aug 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 22, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-22-2019.html <p>rest day - 29 days till Huntsville</p> Thu, 22 Aug 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 21, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-21-2019.html <p>10 mi, 1 mi warm up, 8 mi @ MP +/- 1 min, 1 mi cool down. 63*, 23% humidity, 2 mph breeze, Zero Dark Thirty Start Time.....30 days 22 hours Till The Full Monte !!!!</p> Wed, 21 Aug 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 20, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-20-2019.html <p>6 mi, 1mi&nbsp; X warm up, 4mi @ MP or better (7.3@), 1mi X cool down.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 20 Aug 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Aug 19, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-19-2019.html <p>Rest day, and I really needed it!</p> Mon, 19 Aug 2019 06:00:00 Sun, Aug 18, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-18-2019.html <p>20 mi, warm 4:30am start, 23% humidity, 10 mph wind. Ran on the PRT out to the point of the mountain and back thru Draper back to home base then around the big block. Seemed like todays long run was a somewhat of a struggle especially when the sun poked out and the heat came up in your face. This past week was a rather challenging week with 2 MP runs and a scission with 10 mi /&nbsp;10 X Yassos! 33 days 21 hrs till Huntsville</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Sun, 18 Aug 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Aug 17, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-17-2019.html <p>6 mi on the PRT at a recovery pace</p> Sat, 17 Aug 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Aug 16, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-16-2019.html <p>10 base miles on the DDMtRd.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 16 Aug 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 15, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-15-2019.html <p>10 mi - (10 X 800 Yassos) =&nbsp; 3:47:00 Marathon finish time. My unplanned rest day yesterday was one of the best decisions ever! This was one of my best workouts this cycle, everything was firing at near peak performance, if theres any such thing for a short, old, fat man! 36 days 22 hrs till Huntsville!</p> Thu, 15 Aug 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 14, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-14-2019.html <p>Unplanned Rest Day</p> Wed, 14 Aug 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 13, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-13-2019.html <p>10 miles on the big &amp; small block, 5:am, 38% humidity, 58*, full sunshine when it came up, 38 days 16 hours till go time at the Full Monte!!!!!</p> Tue, 13 Aug 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Aug 12, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-12-2019.html <p>Rest Day</p> Mon, 12 Aug 2019 06:00:00 Sun, Aug 11, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-11-2019.html <p>17 long miles up and down my favorite training battle field, The D D Mt Rd. It was nice, well fairly nice at 70* at 4:30am. But once the sun started to rise so did the temps. The only saving grave was that the humidity was at about 16%. Oh well, gotter done and its time to move on to 6 weeks before the Full Monte.....</p> Sun, 11 Aug 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Aug 10, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-10-2019.html <p>Decided to have a rest day and do anything ( within reason) but run! Tomorrow brings a 17 to 20 long easy miler.</p> Sat, 10 Aug 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Aug 09, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-09-2019.html <p>11 miles on the Porter Rockwell Trail</p> Fri, 09 Aug 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 08, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-08-2019.html <p>10 mi running the hills</p> Thu, 08 Aug 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 07, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-07-2019.html <p>10 mi on the DDMR, (10 mi&nbsp;/ 6 @ mp)</p> Wed, 07 Aug 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 06, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-06-2019.html <p>total rest day</p> Tue, 06 Aug 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Aug 05, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-05-2019.html <p>4 early morning recovery miles.</p> Mon, 05 Aug 2019 06:00:00 Sun, Aug 04, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-04-2019.html <p>20 miles on a hot &amp; humid Long Distance Run. 80* start / 94* finish, 65% humidity, there was some wind, &amp; full sun shine on the double trip on the DDMR to Wasatch and back to home base! &nbsp;47 days 19 hrs till Huntsville! &ldquo;Bring it on&rdquo;!!!!</p> Sun, 04 Aug 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Aug 03, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-03-2019.html <p>5 no name base builder miles this early am....&quot;sans the garmin&quot;</p> Sat, 03 Aug 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Aug 02, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-02-2019.html <p>10 mi, 6 @ mp</p> Fri, 02 Aug 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 01, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-01-2019.html <p>6 Med. Miles on the DDMR, 6:30a, 62*, 76% humidity, Full sunshine by the end...</p> Thu, 01 Aug 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Jul 31, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-31-2019.html <p>8 total miles this morning. 1.5 mi warm-up, (9&nbsp;X 800), 2 mi cool down . 6:30am, 80*, 35% humidity, 15 mph wind.</p> Wed, 31 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 30, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-30-2019.html <p>5 mi on the PRT, 72*, 11% hmidity, 12 mph wind, full sunshine. FB-W/O at the Gym.</p> Tue, 30 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Jul 29, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-29-2019.html <p>Rest day, all day....</p> Mon, 29 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Sun, Jul 28, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-28-2019.html <p>20 mi at 5:am on the big block. 68* start, 18% humidity, full sunshine w/little or no breeze.</p> Sun, 28 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Jul 27, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-27-2019.html <p>4.5 easy miles on the big block. 8:am, 71*, 78% humidity, 3 mph breeze, the recovery is coming along well....</p> Sat, 27 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Jul 26, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-26-2019.html <p>6 recovery miles on the PRT. 76*, 48% humidity, 8 mph wind. 6:30am, 56 days 23 hrs till Huntsville.</p> Fri, 26 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Jul 25, 2019 http://TomSlick.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-25-2019.html <p>6 really fun recovery miles on the Porter (PRT) Rockwell Trail this 5:am, 70*, no wind, 55% humidity and a few tight spots lingering from yesterday&rsquo;s DN10K!!!</p> Thu, 25 Jul 2019 06:00:00